When you create a new publication setting, such as a security rule, it can be set as 'default'.
Setting a publication setting as default means it will be used when you create a new publication.
How to set as default
When creating a new publication setting, tick the 'Default' checkbox.
We have ticked 'Default' for a reader login security rule. This means this security rule will be applied when a new publication is created.